Funeral homes often submit obituaries as a service to the families they are assisting. However, we will be happy to accept obituaries from family members pending proper verification of the death.

Dorothy Ferguson, 94, of Mechanicsville, passed away peacefully March 14, 2022, at St. Luke’s Hospital in Cedar Rapids. Visitation was held Friday, March 18, 2022, at Stewart Baxter Funeral & Memorial Services in Mount Vernon with funeral services on Saturday, March 19, 2022. A private f…

Our beautiful and sassy mother, MaryAlice Caraway, 74, passed away Wednesday, Feb. 23, 2022. Her spirit is carried on by her children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, brother, nephews and many friends.

Beverley Ann Vyrostek, 80, of Ely, died Sunday, Dec. 11, 2021, at Mercy Hospital in Iowa City. A funeral mass was held Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2021, at St. Mary’s Catholic Church in Solon and burial was at St. Mary’s Cemetery. Brosh Chapel and The Avacentre were in charge of arrangements.

Rose Marie Kasparek, 90, of Cedar Rapids, formerly of Solon, passed away Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2021, in her home surrounded by her loving family. Funeral Mass was held Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2021, at St. Mary Catholic Church in Solon, with Fr. Charles Fladung presiding. Burial was in Oakland Cemete…

Fred C. Parks, 74, of Grimes, died Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2021, of a heart attack at Iowa Methodist Medical Center. A burial service will be held at 1 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 13, 2021 at Oakland Cemetery in Solon, with Chaplain Doug Thompson officiating. Military rites will be provided by the Solon…

Lynn W. Sutliff, Oro Valley, Ariz., passed away Sept. 1, 2021, with his family by his side.

Dennis M. O’Connor, 73, of Maquoketa, formerly of Central City and Southern California, passed away Wednesday, Oct. 6, 2021, at his home in Maquoketa, surrounded by his family. Family will greet friends and family from 10-12 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 16, 2021, at Murdoch Funeral Home & Cremati…

Dolores Teresa Lane, 91, Solon, passed away on Thursday, Sept. 9, 2021.

Maxine B. Hennessy, 97, of Solon, passed away peacefully, while under the care of the Solon Retirement Village, Saturday, Sept. 11, 2021. Funeral Mass was held at 11 a.m. Thursday, Sept. 16, 2021, at St. Mary Catholic Church with Fr. Charles Fladung officiating. Burial followed in St. Mary C…

  • Updated

James "Jim" Joseph Pavelka, 94, of Martelle, died Monday, May 7, 2018, at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. Funeral Mass was held Friday, May 11, at St. Mary Catholic Church, in Solon, with burial following at St. Mary Cemetery. Visitation was from 4-7 p.m. on Thursday May 10, at…

  • Updated

Catherine C. Willwerth, 89, formerly of Jesup and Fairbank, died Saturday, April 21, 2018, at Prairie Hills Assisted Living in Independence.

  • Updated

Byron C. Sweeting, 88, of Riverside, passed away on Monday, April 23, 2018, at the University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics. Funeral Mass will be 10 a.m. Tuesday, May 1, at the St. Mary's Catholic Church in Riverside. Burial will be in the Mt. Olivet Cemetery. Following the committal services…

  • Updated

On Friday, April 13, 2018, the world lost one of a kind. Thomas Robert Malatek, 67, of Ely, died peacefully at the Ed and Joan Hemphill Hospice Unit, Unity Point, St. Luke's Hospital, Cedar Rapids, after a hard battle with multiple myeloma.